What 2013 taught me…

So everyone has been posting the blissful moments of life and sorrowful events that have happened in 2013 that caught my attention and compelled me to highlight some important things about last year and a few plans leading towards prosperity and progress next year InshAllah.

Te year started off with me stepping into a new life. I got married, I shifted to a new place with new people and tried absorbing new environment that I have significantly gotten used to of but there is more to learn and explore. :) The bitter truth is that, nothing went as I was expecting it to be as some MQM worker got killed on my Nikah’s day so the entire city had to shut down and a very few closed friends and family could make it to my wedding. My wedding was a simple affair as far as anticipation is concerned but it taught me the most important lesson of my life that I will pass on to my kids. Kill the expectations that you ever have about anything in your life. Be it love, career, family, friends or even your pet animal. The universe is not designed to work as per your principles and expectations rather it will imply its rules on you to turn you into a different creature. What comes handy, will make you happy and what doesn’t show up, it wasn’t meant to be for you. Simple rules, simple life.

Most of my life started getting surrounded by new family, in-laws. The whole idea of visiting my home every 15 days and staying there for couple of days or sometimes 3 days and then bringing back many things my mother would give me considering I was a spoiled child and I didn’t know jack about home making ( I am still learning ) , was fascinating in the beginning but then after getting used to of this routine, I started feeling bad for maa and sisters that I can’t give them enough time. But then husband and in-laws were a priority too. So I learned to balance between both the families. Resolving issues, you know the usual roothna manana, compromising, silently remembering my parents and weeping , complaining about petty issues. It was all a part of me until I realized that this is eternity till I am alive! This is no project, no scholarship, no contract that I am bound to for so n so years. Its a life long commitment. ITS BIG!!!. Evidently I came over the home sickness and tried finding work. I was doing radio but I got a major breakthrough when I was offered TaazaDum by Apna Karachi FM 107. That was probably achievement of the year for me. :)

I traveled quite a bit in this year. So April was IYAC, Islamabad. Then june was Bangkok, Koh Samui and Pattaya. Best week long trip to Lahore in November-Dec. It was different this time as I was regularly in touch with my two families. It was something I had to do. One of those few things that was add-on to my life package. But that too made me a lot more responsible and a lot more sensitive about family in general. I tend to get outrageous about family now. Don’t know if that is a good thing or not. Travelling in general was fun. With partner it was whole lot different. Alone it was a different deal. The plan is to save and make family travel now InshAllah :)

Radio gave me exposure and a lot of opportunities. I started hosting Coke Studio show , did a road show, gave my voice to few announcements, even auditioned for the Turkish dramas. It was funny when the producer tried to take my voice sample and place it on a 16 year old happy go lucky girl. With embarrassment he told me that my voice was too mature and it would fit some 30+ lady if they ever found one in a Turkish play. Well he was kind enough to help me figure out lip sync but I just couldn’t get through. Ah well. Probably not exciting enough for me.

In terms of work, I landed some really amazing deals. I was team lead for #DIGIT13 this year which was Pakistan’s largest Digital media conference. I landed into Faysal Bank T-20 tournament Social media team too. Managed Facebook and twitter for a clothing brand and covered the launch live which was something one of its kind. Got invited by jubilee Life insurance to see Haaf playte. Participated in Lets Vote campaign. So yeah, bunch of stuff and much more to come :)

Lets see… Ah I cooked! this is the year when I have cooked the most. I tried many dishes and I was successful in quite a few experiments. Things I made include chicken Biryani, Gajar ka halwa, Bhuna hua gosht, Nihari, Karahi, Varieties of sabzi and daal, and chowmein. Also made my signature dessert called Chocolate mousse tart with roasted almonds. I am aiming to bake cakes and cup cakes now :)

A lot of people I trusted, had faith in, considered close friends and was counting on them to stay with me even after marriage, are not there anymore. They disappeared. And sometimes I don’t get the reason why did they do that. I kept rumbling about it and kept hurting myself for losing those friends. But then I realized that may be they weren’t meant to stay forever. May be they don’t want to intervene in my life now. May be they don’t want to listen to my rants as the stories don’t involve them anymore and there is nothing of their interest. But I am glad and I feel blessed for friends who stayed throughout the tough times of my life and they make sure they keep a check on me once in a while. It feels good. Family is family but there are people who you have shared moments with and you don’t want to let them go. I don’t either. :) Lesson learnt : Marriage might not change you much but it changes people around you.

I feel I need to start writing again. I wrote few blogs for Tego and it felt great. Don’t know why I couldn’t keep up with the pace. But 2014 – Writing every day some thing or the other is on my TO DO LIST.

I don’t think I have ever written such an insightful post about me ever on this blog but this is how I want to begin my new year. I want to re-build a strong connection with you all once again who have made me who I am today. You guys read my blogs, listen to me on radio and help me whenever I ask for it. So in totality I am nothing and I want to stay nothing for the rest of my life :)

May ALLAH bless all of you with sunshine and happiness in your lives and may you all get whatever you aim for in life and hereafter. Happy 2014.

5 thoughts on “What 2013 taught me…

  1. What a year you had!
    Now that you are doing a lot of cooking, why don’t you go on and try one of our Peruvian dishes? There are plenty of them on the internet. I’m pretty sure you won’t regret it.
    ;)

  2. This is just few moments that you covered in this post. If you dig deeper, you will find more interesting times. Life is all about love and care. If you give, you will get it multiplied many times.
    Keep inspiring!

Leave a Reply

